Anyone Surf? Need some advice for a beginner

king_jeffers
king_jeffers Posts: 694
edited June 2011 in Commuting chat
Hi all, so I spent about a year banging on and on to the Mrs about how much I would like to give surfing a go. So for my birthday (last year!) I got 2x lessons however I've been putting it off for almost 12 months now and they are about to expire. Reason being I'm only 5 ft 7 and weigh about 14 stone - I don't look like a massive obese guy, more stocky than anything else, but I really don't want to look like an over stuffed sausage when I don a wet suit... So my question! I'm I worrying about nothing, is the wet suit not that bad OR should I lose a bit more weight first? Also what do you wear under a wet suit? I was reading nothing but then I'm thinking the suit is rented... second thought I might buy one.... :?

Comments

• jds_1981
    jds_1981 Posts: 1,858
    Almost anyone looks like an overstuffed sausage in a wet suit so don't worry about it...

Own wetsuit, don't wear anything under.

Rented, swimming shorts/trunks & if you like a rash vest.

If you enjoy it try these guys
    http://www.surfschoolanzarote.com/
    a week course with warm water & consistent surf. Awesome.
    FCN 9 || FCN 5
  • essex-commuter
    essex-commuter Posts: 2,188
    I'm sure you will look fine but hey, don't worry about it, life's too short. Go and enjoy yourself!
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    I wouldn't do it. If you aren't a perfect slim tanned Adonis the surf instructor crew (probably Aussies too) will be unable to teach you anything due to laughing their socks off at your resmblance to an over-stuffed sausage. Or they may well have seen every size permutation known to man and not even notice.

We took our boys surfing at Easter. Loved every minute of it they did, from a standing start to riding the waves in one lesson. If they can do it I'm pretty sure a cyclist can. Go to it.
  • jangle
    jangle Posts: 114