help with mountain bike shoes and pedals

orienteerstu55
orienteerstu55 Posts: 102
edited June 2011 in MTB general
hi

im quite new to mountain biking and pretty clueless, im wondering should i get some of thoose clippy pedal things instead of flat ones? are their any differnt pedals what would u recomend in the way of pedals for a novice mountain biker who may fall off from time to time

all advice is good advice

thanks stu

also if u happen to be selling any pedals in red or uk size 11 shoes for the pedals drop me a msg

Comments

• andrewyzfr6
    andrewyzfr6 Posts: 194
    Ive been using mountain bikes for 15+ years, and been using spd's (shimano cliped-in pedals and shoes) On the road ive been using look's and on road spd's.
    Its only in the last year ive been using flats.
    I find the flats less efficent. But better control on the technical stuff. Climbing is far better on spds though.
    It depends on you tho, what suits you best. If your not confident off road on the bike I dont think the spd's are a good idea.
    2011 Orange 224 evo race
    2009 Orange 5 pro
    2008 Scott Scale 30
    2002 S-works m5 fsr
  • My preference is flats, not keen on the idea of being clipped in, knowing me i would probabaly not twist/unclip my foot in time as i fall!

some decent DC/Vans/Osiris trainers and DMR V8 or V12 pedals is what i would recommend. They would give you good grip and the trainers will still be comfy in the post ride beer!
    If in doubt - flat out!
  • Atz
    Atz Posts: 1,383
    stu - I use both. Flats on trail bike, clipless on road bike and HT. Horses for courses and all that
  • cee
    cee Posts: 4,553
    stu...

without getting into the 'clips vs flats' debate...there are some pretty strong opinions on either side....

if you are quite new....

my advice would be...stick with flats for the time being...