First Fitting

FindYourGozo
FindYourGozo Posts: 30
edited May 2011 in Road beginners
I have my first fitting scheduled for this Friday afternoon. I own a Specialized Allez Sport 2010 and is my first road bike. I have ordered shoes (Specialized BG Pro Road Shoes that will arrive on Thursday (These are them: http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/SBC ... spid=39461 ). I was given a pair of used pedals that I will make do for now.

Here are my questions:

Do I need to wear cycling specific clothes to the fitting?

What questions, if any, should I have for the tech? I worry that if I don't ask the right questions I wont get the right service.

Will it be like breaking in a new shoe? Will there be some discomfort as I get used to the proper position?

What can I do to avoid annoying the tech? I am a compete newbie but with your help it does not have to be so obvious.

I am all ears to any other wisdom you feel inclined to share on the subject.

Comments

• unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864

I would. The thick padding on cycling shorts will alter your position a bit.
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • unixnerd wrote:

I would. The thick padding on cycling shorts will alter your position a bit.

I thought the same thing. I figured the shorts too would make it easier to see leg position and angles - I imagine gym shorts could make it a bit more difficult to see. I can't think of any reason to wear a jersey though - is there a reason to? Could I just go in my bibs and a t-shirt?
  • Wheelspinner
    Wheelspinner Posts: 6,560

Here are my questions:

YES. Shoes and knicks certainly but also worth wearing a fairly slim fitting jersey, as it is easier to see your body position, and movement, if not obscured by a big loose tent of a t-shirt.