Double or Triple Help ?

Silversladey
Silversladey Posts: 450
edited May 2011 in Road beginners
I am new to Road biking, I am going to invest in a bike but I am not sure what gearing set up i need.

I have noticed that a lot of bikes have a double ring set up, with some still favouring Three front rings.

What are the Pros and Cons of the different set ups and which one do you reccommend ?

Thanks

Comments

• MattJPaul
    MattJPaul Posts: 95
    I am new to Road biking, I am going to invest in a bike but I am not sure what gearing set up i need.

I have noticed that a lot of bikes have a double ring set up, with some still favouring Three front rings.

What are the Pros and Cons of the different set ups and which one do you reccommend ?

Thanks

Double, all the way.

It depends what sort of riding you want to do but for my money you don't get many more usable gears with a triple, and you can power up most hills just fine with the bottom end of a double.

I say it depends because if you want to tour you may well need the lower gears a triple affords to make the hundreds of miles a little easier on your legs. If you're in it for fitness with perhaps some sportives, however, make it a double.

Edit: You'll also get fitter, faster. It would be too tempting to use the lower gears you do get with a triple.
  • RowCycle
    RowCycle Posts: 367
    A triple has more range of gears.

On a road bike I find a double is fine.
  • oldwelshman
    oldwelshman Posts: 4,733
    I would not say definateky a double, there are many factors to look at for you.
    How old are you, what is your physique, how fit are you and where are you likely to ride.
    You can have a normal double 53/39 with wide range rear sprocket. Living where you are you would need a good lever of fitness for this.