Too light or new tyres?

Mr Blister
Mr Blister Posts: 25
edited May 2011 in Road buying advice
I have recently got a "new to me" Roubaix S works frameset the bike is all built up now. I have also gotten a set of "new to me" Kyserium elite SL wheels.

My problem is this; The bike rides beautifully up hill, it accelerates fantastically on the flat but descending, especially with any wind is a nightmare, It has already caused me one crash and a couple of near misses. I also mountain bike so consider myself to have pretty good bike handling ability. I have been riding for about 13 years and have never really experience any problems like it before. The bike literally skips when it gets caught in a cross wind. I'm wondering if the problem is that me and the bike are too light? I know that sounds ridiculous but I only weigh 8st 2 so i would guess i have a bike and rider weight of less than 10st. I also wondered if it might be the tyres, the wheels came with a set of Michelin Pro race. The whole situation is really starting to wreck my riding!

So is it the weight or the tyres and if it is the tyres and if it is the tyres what would people recommend that is going to be fast but secure!

07 Specialized Roubaix S - Works - With Kysrium SL's
Iceni Reynolds 520 commuter/ tourer
DMR Trailstar
If it has wheels I'll ride it!!

Comments

• Avanti Roman
    Avanti Roman Posts: 189
    Couple of thoughts:

1) Tyre pressures too high for your weight?
    http://www.ctc.org.uk/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=3802

2) Tyres - I my Vittoria Rubino Pros much better in the wet than my old Pro Races - particularly on dirty wet roads where grit & mud would unsettle the Michelins.

3) Try some wheels with round non bladed spokes.
    Ribble Gran Fondo
    Boardman CX Team
    Trek 8000
    Sirrus framed 'special'

Prev: Avanti Corsa, Routens, MBK TT, homemade TT bike, Trek 990, Vitus 979 x 2, Peugeot Roubaix & er..Raleigh Arena!
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614