Another little nugget for the helmet debate!

Comments

• davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    CiB wrote:
    Some well-worded stuff

I love you. Will you be my dad?

Signed. Habitual-helmet-wearer, not that it protected me from rather unpleasant injury. I still wear a plastic hat, and I still know that, for me, it'll make little effective difference.

(this bit is not directed at CiB... just included here)

Life's a trade-off of risk versus benefit. People put different values in both the "risk" and "benefit" columns. It's personal assessment of risk, and therfore personal choice. Accept that, and carry on with your day

Personal choice about personal protection, yo?
    Sometimes parts break. Sometimes you crash. Sometimes it’s your fault.
  • jehannum5
    jehannum5 Posts: 54
    WTF? How is it possible that there is an argument? I am a crit care nurse working in a neuro ICU, and a guy who rides to my shift. I can't see a reasonable argument about wearing helmets.

Not wearing a simple device that slows the kinetic energy imparted onto the skull and transmitted to the nerves in the brain seems like a simple intelligence test to me.

You can take the research as you will, look at the physics of the matter...and then come to a shift with me and see the devastation that results from head injuries.

Yes it's personal choice (unless compelled by law) but I shivered at the comment by some dude who didn't give a rats whether his kids wore helmets.....

The comment that ...oh it makes my head bigger therefore more likely to strike the road!!!! Jeezus... come on people...... There is no argument that doesn't result from cosmetics. I'm glad to see pro's ride with them now so thatit removes the 'cool' factor of riding with a cotton cap.

Let me tell you a helmet protects the brain more than a cotton cap...or is that not what the argument is about?
  • dueceone
    dueceone Posts: 37
    dueceone wrote: