Manchester city centre route advice

Agent57
Agent57 Posts: 2,300
edited May 2011 in Commuting chat
I've been offered a new job. \o/ It will involve commuting by train, as Manchester's too far to cycle. At the Manchester end, I'll be travelling from Oxford Road station, to MediaCityUK on Salford Quays. My plan was to buy a folder and cycle the 2 or 3 miles at the work end.

I mentioned this to a friend, and his reaction was "good luck". Apparently, the Mancunian Way and Regent Road aren't particularly bike-friendly.

Now, I'm a very confident rider in traffic. I've been mixing it with cages for more than 30 years. So, if my friend being pessimistic and paranoid, or should I rethink my strategy? (I can probably find a slightly quieter - possibly longer - route, too, I assume).
MTB commuter / 531c commuter / CR1 Team 2009 / RockHopper Pro Disc / 10 mile PB: 25:52 (Jun 2014)

Comments

• kamiokande
    kamiokande Posts: 55
    Have you considered the canal towpath? I've never cycled that stretch but i think it leads to Salford Quays. If you come out of Oxford Rd. Station and head to the other side of Sainsburys, there are some steps down to the canal there.
  • Agent57
    kamiokande wrote:
    Have you considered the canal towpath?

Nope; I'm not local (or even a frequent visitor), so I don't know of such things. =) If there is a route along the canal, I'll certainly consider that - I guess it also depends if there's a suitable bridge nearby, too.
    MTB commuter / 531c commuter / CR1 Team 2009 / RockHopper Pro Disc / 10 mile PB: 25:52 (Jun 2014)
  • Mr Sharky
    Mr Sharky Posts: 172