New rider, shoulder op, nervous

snowden_88
snowden_88 Posts: 174
edited May 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all

New to this forum thing, so bare with me.

Looking to start biking, bit nervous as I had shoulder surery for several dislocations 9 months ago. Still recovering, nearly there. To put it plainly, Iv got fat, no exercise in over a year due to this injury. Running is boring and I previously had a gym membership but the pretty girls and muscle men put me to shame so I never went. Gyms are awkward places!

So, I really am interested in starting biking. I live in the middle of Thetford Forest so its perfect, it has a mix of trails so I can gradually build up my confidence.

My budget is £300, Im a noob, I don't know what specs im looking for. I'm 5ft 7 12 stone so not huge. Iv been looking on allterraincycles.com as they do finance deals.

Looking at-

2011 Switchback Sport Hardtail MTB Bike
2011 Frontier Sport Hardtail MTB Bike
Orbea 2011 Tuareg Hardtail MTB Bike

with the Orbea looking like my favourite. Mostly because it looks good and more reliable than the others.

What do you guys think? Help appreciated

Thanks
"it's like a gift, you know? It's like I can't control it"

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Have you got any direct links to these bikes?
  • snowden_88
  • supersonic
    Very little in them, will come down to what fits best.

If you can stretch to this though:

http://www.allterraincycles.co.uk/product/124789.html

Superb bike.
  • snowden_88
    Iv been reading on here that the Tyax is a good bike. Thing is, if I go £350 I'll then see a bike I like for £400, then I'll see one for £450 and keep going up thinking "meh, whats £50?"

Are the bikes I picked any good then? What about the

http://www.allterraincycles.co.uk/product/121100.html?

The missus would kill me if I go any higher
  • supersonic