When do you wear a Helmet? Research..

124»

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    bails87 wrote:
    FWIW, if anyone's going to have an agenda, surely it would be the pro-helmet (supported by the helmet makers) side, seeing as there's no money in convincing someone that a helmet isn't a cloak of invincibility. :wink:
    There's no money in conspiracy theories either, just tons and tons of fukkin crazy people.
  • foxc_uk
    foxc_uk Posts: 1,292
    Always, force of habit - I horse ride, so legally have to, and snowboard - having had the odd head-to-rock-covered-in-snow moment I just don't feel safe without it.
  • Anonymous
    See, curiously, although I am new to snowboarding, and still fall over a lot, I'm more than happy going helmetless for now on it.
    Comes back to the personal risk judgement.
  • Razor1548
    Razor1548 Posts: 53
    I have had a few nasty falls because I can't jump even a little bit, so I will always wear a helmet at a trail centre these days.

I don't wear one on the road or for local farm trails / footpath riding. IF I was able to reach anything like 40MPH then I probably would, but I have only squeezed out 30 once or twice and then it's on nice rolling trails where you can see a long way ahead.

Aside from the safety, there is a natural selection element to this. :) Maybe people who fall off their bikes and damage themselves seriously on a gentle ride are best kept away from the gene pool! ;)
  • raymenrh
    raymenrh Posts: 53
    See, curiously, although I am new to snowboarding, and still fall over a lot, I'm more than happy going helmetless for now on it.

Hmm you have given my a bit of a dilemma here. I've always sided with the pro-legalising helmet usage on bikes, but, although I have never snowboarded (although I have an ever increasing desire to try it). Yet I would probably not wear a helmet snowboarding, even on the first try. Even though it is probably as comparably dangerous to MTBing.