I Nearly Hit A Lemming Today...

Pufftmw
Pufftmw Posts: 1,941
edited May 2011 in Commuting chat
Thing is most of us on this forum are reasonably streetwise & roadwise, look ahead, go steady/look at junctions and even wear helmets. Personally, I've been cycling for 42 of my 46 years, driving since I was 13, been a motorcycle courier, a van courier, commuted 150 miles a day for 10 years and in total must have racked up a couple of million miles in my lifetime. I've also cycled on & off road and for the last 2.5 years have commuted daily in London by cycle. Basically I'm pretty atuned to travelling in London/anywhere and know when & when not to take a risk.

Tonight, around 18:00 just off Lewisham Hi St, I was travelling about 20mph (30mph limit) on a straight and wide road. I wasn't in a hurry but then I never exceed the 30 in a car - in this case a Volvo XC70 which is quite a large & substantial vehicle. Out of a side road to my left, shot, without any warning or reason a girl on a bike (sit up & beg type). If I had been going 30, it would have been a close run thing. I naturally lifted off the acccelerator & went for the brake when another girl, on a simillar bike, narrowly missed my bumper. I had seen her begin to come out & hit the horn. I saw a third girl & looked/preyed that she would not follow & fortunately she just didn't but she looked shocked. I gave her "the eye" & carried on slowly up the road a few hundred yards cursing them before looking in my wing mirror. When I did I saw the 2nd girl on the floor with her bike. She'd obviously lost it having nealy hit me and ended up in the gutter. She was more or less ok as she got up and was standing there. By the time I had parked & walked back, they had all gone.