New to the forum...embarrassing myself already!

coombsfh
coombsfh Posts: 186
edited May 2011 in The bottom bracket
Dear everyone,

My name is Fred (my username is my surname followed by the first letters of my first and middle names Frederick and Hope...). I am a 22 year old student in Manchester and am looking to get into road biking. I won't do the whole Buying advice thing here as there is a sub-forum for that. Basically have about £1k to spend and have a bit of an idea on what to get but have signed up here to make sure I don't make any silly moves (and because I ought to be revising for final exams).

Interests include weight training, grip training (I weigh 100-105 kg depending on how strict both training and diet are), nature (especially moths), climbing for fun, walking my dog when I am at home in Wiltshire, seeing other countries and plenty of other gubbins.

A small, embarrassing, bike related ice breaker is that I have only ever had one tick attached to me. After a bike ride I noticed (whilst urinating) that one had attached itself right to the end of my "gentleman's sausage". There is no easy way to approach your own mother (even if se is a nurse) and ask her to remove a tick from your bellend... :oops:

If anyone has any advice for a newbie with about £1k to spend, look and advise in the buying sub-forum.

Look forward to learning a lot,

Fred.

Comments

• explosifpete
    explosifpete Posts: 1,327
    Welcome to the forum and the world of cycling, thanks for making me laugh

As for bike you will get different loads of advice from people as most bikes in the £1000 mark are good.
    Mine would be to get something that fits you, with strong wheels and a alu frame (I would prefer a good alu over a cheap carbon any day) and something that you think looks nice
  • coombsfh
    Welcome to the forum and the world of cycling, thanks for making me laugh

As for bike you will get different loads of advice from people as most bikes in the £1000 mark are good.