SPD Virgin

mudcow007
mudcow007 Posts: 3,861
edited May 2011 in Commuting chat
afternoon girls and boys

just fitted my sparkling new 520's an im not going to lie to you, im pretty worried about the ride home, its my first time riding on SPDs an ive spent most of my dinner time clicking in and out of them to make sure i can that

any tips?
Keeping it classy since '83

Comments

• Just do it, it's not that tough. Oh, and un-clip your standing foot nice and early as you come up to junctions.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Just do it, it's not that tough. Oh, and un-clip your standing foot nice and early as you come up to junctions.

+1
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • mudcow007
    thanks for that, i will remember that *makes mental note*

one thing im struggling with is actually getting "clipped in" i seem to be wildly jabbing my foot at the pedal...oh things were so much easier with DMR's
  • sam_anon
    sam_anon Posts: 153
    Don't worry about it, you will fall off (probably!)

The first ride is normally fine as you're thinking about it all the time.

Next ride you forget, stop, panic and fall over. The classic way is stop, panic, get one foot out, fall other way.

You'll love it on day three though!
  • jeepie
    jeepie Posts: 497
    Unclip your left foot not your right one. That way if you have a clipless moment you'll fall onto the pavement and not into the road.

Unclip very early if you can.

Remember in an emergency stop situation you'll have to unclip - not hitting the hard object in front of you will not save you from a clipless moment!

You'll be fine! :)
  • just loosen the adjuster a little bit, so you can clip in a bit easier, then when you have got use to it tighten it back up again
    Sorry its not me it's the bike ;o)

Strava Dude link http://www.strava.com/athletes/amander
    Commuting, Domestic & Pleasure : Specialized Sectuer Sport Disc