Pedal for Scotland - 100 mile sportive

Garryboy
Garryboy Posts: 344
Evening folks,

Im fairly new to cycling (about 3 months) but found it very addictive!

With exercise, ive found having an event to train for keeps me motivated and focussed on getting out/training - did this when running and always had a 10k or half marathon on the horizon.

Im looking at entering the pedal for Scotland 100 mile sportive, but im a little concerned I wont be ready for it.

Im getting out about 3 times during the week for an hour a time, typically doing about 16 miles

And one or twice at the weekend doing something similar to this;
http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/pnEy5Y-GlEA

Ive felt good improvement in the last couple of weeks with my average mph going up a little - any tips or pointers? Or should I aim lower and do the 51 mile route?

Comments

• suzyb
    suzyb Posts: 3,449
    imho do the 51 mile event. Better to aim low and excel than aim high and get shot down.
  • AndyD2574
    AndyD2574 Posts: 1,034
    The 50 miler is a nice relaxed affair. The 100 is slightly more serious but if you structure your training you will do it.

Just need to make sure you have a programme that builds up and peaks for you at the right time.
    Specialized S Works Venge
    Argon18 E114
    Specialized Langster Single Speed
    Scott Spark Expert 29'er
    GT Avalanche
    http://www.glasgowgreencycleclub.co.uk
  • Wallace1492
    Wallace1492 Posts: 3,707
    Can't beat putting in the miles.... if you wanna do the 100 miler, then do 4 or 5 70 to 80 mile runs, maybe even a 100 so you can see what it is all about. Obviously build up to the longer runs...

Keep up a fairly high mileage week in week out. It is tough, but achievable.
    "Encyclopaedia is a fetish for very small bicycles"
  • Garryboy
    Thanks all

SuzyB know where youre coming from and also seen from your posts you had a stinker at the etape - commiserations - its that or taking a stupidly long time to finish that concerns me.