Forum home Road cycling forum Amateur race

Yorkshire Regional Road Race Championships - Race Info

Pinarello MarcPinarello Marc Posts: 29
edited May 2011 in Amateur race
Yorkshire Regional Road Race Championships – Sunday 22nd May 2011, Denby Dale Circuit.

Sheffrec CC are proud to promote the Yorkshire Regional Road Race Championships on Sunday 22nd May held on the Denby Dale circuit. The newly built Penistone Grammar School plays host for the days 106 entrants. The National B Elite race is packed with on form riders. Lincoln GP winner Scott Thwaites of Endura Racing is down to ride and has to be one of the favourites amongst six Elite riders. Local riders from Sportscover Strategic Altura have a strong team including Kevin Dawson, Ashley Brown and with the father and son partnership of John and Jake Tanner all capable of a high finishing position. Herbalife / Wheelbase also have an impressive line up with Alistair Kay and the winner of the promoting club, Sheffrec CC’s spring road race, Jamie Shirlaw. Former 2009 winner Tom Barras of Cycle Premier Metaltek rode to victory on the same circuit so he’ll be looking for a repeat performance over the tough undulating 11.5 mile circuit which they will cover 7 3/4 times. Local to the circuit Tom Murray of Sigmasport Specialized Cycling Team will also be in the mix along with a good team line up are Harrogate based They have strength in depth with Sheffield rider and once Yorkshire Regional Champs runner up Jamie Burgan leading the squad of Trek sponsored riders.

With 52 entries comprising of 10 junior males, 7 women and 35 masters, the Regional Junior, Women and Masters Race will run 10 minutes behind the Elite race. Following his first senior road race win at the Steve Rigby Memorial Race, 17 year old Ashley Proctor from Sheffrec CC will be seeking a podium finish with other young local riders, Jordon Skinner, Dinnington RC and James Baillie, Sheffield Sports CC all suited to the terrain that this West Yorkshire circuit provides. The Womens race will cover a shorter distance of 34 miles. Sheffield rider Penny Rowson, Horizon Fitness / Prendas Cyclismo and daughter of former Mike Race winner, Chris Walker, Jessie rides in her first Yorkshire Championships for RST RT / Trigon.

The masters category is dominated by 5 riders from Peak Road Club. 2009 saw good rides from this club so they will be hoping that a good team effort will see them up for a result at the end of the 54 mile race. Local rider Richard Binks of Holme Valley Wheelers and Paul Dixon from VS Cycles, Brighouse will also be looking to produce the form that delivered them both top 10 positions on the same circuit in 2009. Giles Pidcock Epic Cycles RC will have to hold onto the bunch on the climbs but will in no doubt be a favourite if the bunch stays together something that would be a surprise given the rolling hills of the Denby Dale circuit.

Spectators are welcomed to watch the races unfold. Limited car parking is available on Carr Hill Road, but drivers are asked not to obstruct the finish line or residents driveways which are close to the feeding zone. Prizes will be awarded for all races 30 minutes after the finish of the Elite race back at the HQ at Penistone School.

National B E123 Race – Start 10.00am
    1. Steven Guymer Active / CP Cycles RT 1st 2. Matthew Robinson All Terrain Cycles 2nd 3. Jamie Burgan 1st 4. Philip Holwell 3rd 5. Matt Mannakee 2nd 6. Oliver Pearce 3rd 7. James Thompson 2nd 8. Matthew Williams 2nd 9. Joshua Edmondson Colpack Elite U23 10. Tom Barras Cycle Premier Metaltek Elite 11. Richard Hepworth Cycle Premier Metaltek Elite 12. Tom Garwell Dirt Wheels Cycles 3rd 13. Rob Watkinson Doncaster Wheelers CC 2nd 14. Stephen Henson Ellis Briggs RT 2nd 15. Scott Thwaites Endura Racing Elite 16. Jack Cutsforth Herbalife / Wheelbase 2nd 17. Alistair Kay Herbalife / Wheelbase 1st 18. Jamie Shirlaw Herbalife / Wheelbase 1st 19. Ivan Boyes Huddersfield Star Wheelers 3rd 20. Pete Middlehurst Cycle Premier Metaltek 2nd 21. Ian Michelson Moonglu RT 3rd 22. Robert Watson Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC 2nd 23. Lee Tunnicliffe Planet X RT 2nd 24. Michael Clayton Private Member 3rd 25. Mark Ollerenshaw Richardsons RT / Cube 3rd 26. Danny Lowthorpe Rutland CC 2nd 27. Daniel Storey Sheffrec CC 2nd U23 28. Tom Murray Sigmasport Specialized Cycling Team 1st 29. Ashley Brown Sportscover Strategic Altura 1st 30. Josh Cole Sportscover Strategic Altura 2nd 31. Kevin Dawson Sportscover Strategic Altura Elite 32. Ben Last Sportscover Strategic Altura 2nd 33. Duncan Moralee Sportscover Strategic Altura 2nd 34. John Tanner Sportscover Strategic Altura Elite 35. Jake Tanner Sportscover Strategic Altura 1st 36. James Wagner Sportscover Strategic Altura 3rd 37. Alex Wallis Sportscover Strategic Altura 2nd 38. Chris Daddy Star Bikes RT 2nd 39. Daniel Keena Star Bikes RT 2nd 40. Dieter Droger Team CF 3rd 41. Graeme Rose Team JD Cycles Ilkley 3rd 42. Jordan Hargreaves Team Wallis 2nd U23 43. Mark Perry Vicious Velo 2nd 44. Ben Kellett VS Cycles Brighouse 2nd U23 45. Paul Allen Wakefield CC / Exponential 2nd 46. Nick Rylance Wakefield CC / Exponential 2nd 47. Dominic Smith We Love Mountains RT 3rd 48. David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels RT 2nd 49. Stephen Ward Wilsons Wheels RT 2nd 50. Nathan Wilson Wilsons Wheels RT 2nd 51. Chris Clark York Cycleworks 3rd 52. Ewan Sewell York Cycleworks 3rd U23 53. Callum Sewell York Cycleworks 2nd U23 54. James Sharp York Cycleworks 2nd

Regional Junior, Women & Masters Race – Start 10.10am


    1. Ashley Marshal Aire Valley Racing Team 2nd Junior 2. Michael Knight Chevin Bang & Olufson 4th Junior 3. Jordon Skinner Dinnington RC 3rd Junior 4. Edward McParland GT Racing UK 3rd Junior 5. Joseph Moses Paul Milnes Cycles 4th Junior 6. James Baillie Sheffield Sports CC 3rd Junior 7. Ashley Proctor Sheffrec CC 3rd Junior 8. Peter Barusevicus VC Bradford / Pennine Cyles 4th Junior 9. Ashley Walls Yorkshire Road Club 4th Junior 10. Nicholas Barnes Zepnat RT 4th Junior

    11. Brit Tate Dirt Wheels Cycles 4th W 12. Gabriella Shaw For Viored U23 W 13. Penny Rowson Horizon Fitness / Prendas Cyclismo 2nd U23 W 14. Nikola Butler Inverse / Cyclaim RT 4th W 15. Jessie Walker RST RT / Trigon 3rd Junior W 16. Iona Sewell Squadra Donne / Bike Food 2nd W 17. Samantha Buckingham Wakefield CC / Exponential ?

    18. Chris Wade Aire Valley RT 2nd Master 19. Paul Vokes Batley CC / Hargreaves Cycles 3rd Master 20. Barry Mordue Crosstrax 3rd Master 21. Craig Maude Dirt Wheels Cycles 3rd Master 22. Giles Pidcock Epic Cycles RC 2nd Master 23. Graeme Huston GS Metro 3rd Master 24. Sean Smith Halifax Imperial Wheelers 3rd Master 25. Gary Marks Harrogate Nova CC 4th Master 26. Richard Binks Holme Valley Wheelers 2nd Master 27. Patrick Douglas Leeds Mercury RT 3rd Master 28. Kevin Stuart Leeds Mercury RT 3rd Master 29. Tim Howcroft Otley CC 4th Master 30. Christopher McLelland Otley CC 4th Master 31. Stephen Ellis Out of the Saddle CC 3rd Master 32. Paul Bell Peak RC 2nd Master 33. Steve Gibson Peak RC 2nd Master 34. Tony Grassby Peak RC 3rd Master 35. Mark Jacobi Peak RC 3rd Master 36. Simon Owens Peak RC 3rd Master 37. Blair Buss Pedalsport CC 3rd Master 38. Steve Johnson Private Member 2nd Master 39. Simon Keeton Rutland CC 3rd Master 40. David Thorpe Rutland CC 3rd Master 41. Mick Rowson RVO Racing 3rd Master 42. Alan Dawson Sheffield 220 City Road RT 4th Master 43. Mark Fidler Sheffrec CC 4th Master 44. Chris Last Sportscover Strategic Altura 3rd Master 45. Richard Moore Star Bikes RT 2nd Master 46. John Askew Team Active / CP Cycles RT 3rd Master 47. Stephen Swales Team Active / CP Cycles RT 3rd Master 48. Lars Koerdt Team JD Cycles 3rd Master 49. Paul Hickman TEF Richardsons 3rd Master 50. Paul Dixon VS Cycles 3rd Master 51. Phil Valentine Wakefield CC / Exponential 3rd Master 52. John Wright Wakefield CC / Exponential 3rd Vet

Link to the race programme:
Sign In or Register to comment.