Struggling to improve

king_jeffers
king_jeffers Posts: 694
edited May 2011 in Commuting general
I've been cycling to work now for a couple of months, on average twice a week 6.2 miles in and about 7 back (go slightly different way when going home). I'm really finding it hard to improve my times, its taking a total of about 38-40 mins to work and about 35 home if I push hard. I'm riding a mountain bike with knobblies (front suspension only which I have locked out), carry a heavy pack with lock, food and work clothes - this morning I was over taken by a creature resembling something from Where The Wild Things Are and I just couldn't gain on him, to make matters worse he had a similar bike and just breezed by (good points for him!). Anyway I was wondering if anyone had any tips to improve times/stamina?

I can go a slightly longer route into work that is more hilly which is about 7.5 miles, is it worth going the extra distance to improve and build up? As for the pack I would love to ditch it but I've got nowhere to leave my stuff at work and things tend to go missing if you do. I'm trying to build up how many times I cycle in per week to three times and hoping to increase to four.

My general fitness is poor, I've started doing circuit training at the gym and really improved my diet - hoping that will help.

I have got to beat the big guy. :D

Comments

• depends if you are going off road on your bike or not, if not i would recommend changing your knobblies for slicks, your time and speed will improve no end.
    Sorry its not me it's the bike ;o)

Strava Dude link http://www.strava.com/athletes/amander
    Commuting, Domestic & Pleasure : Specialized Sectuer Sport Disc

Please Sponsor http://www.justgiving.com/alister-manderfield1
  • ThatBikeGuy
    ThatBikeGuy Posts: 394