rear deraleur jamming on carrara fury

Cog Head
Cog Head Posts: 53
edited May 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
hi all, im new to the pedal power side of bikes.
ive been and got myself a fury, and ive been loving it, ive done about 150 miles on it so far, but on the way back form the last 20 mile run i did, i noticed that when i put the crank set of gears on the middle sprocket, and go to high gears on the rear sprockets, its kinda nicks on something when im peddling and it will lock up completely more often than not, ive had it upside down and peddled the crankw ith my hand in said gear, and its like the chain dosent want to stay on the sprocket... any ideas

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    rear mech needs setting up.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Cog Head
    so its kinda been run in and gone a bit slack now then? how do i go about setting it up? is there a guide online somwhere?
  • pugaltitude
    pugaltitude Posts: 191
    Do it youself or take it back to Halfords if its only done 150 miles and hear what they have to say.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Learn to do it yourself, it's a regular fettle.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Cog Head
    thanks for that link, think ill have a nights worth of maintenance on it tomorrow after work, im the sort of person who dose everything myself, mainly because when ive done it, i know its perfect 8) and i can only blame myself when it all goes t!ts up :roll:

how often should i be doing this then? it cant be healthy for the chain or running gear to leave it till it get caught up
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    As soon as the change isn't smooth and easy.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Cog Head