25 miles every day commute

tjh159
tjh159 Posts: 21
edited May 2011 in Commuting general
I have been cycling to and from work for the past 12 months. I have averaged 2-3 days per week and the odd Saturday but really want to regularly do 4 days (mon-thurs) and also saturdays as well, I find myself getting very tired on Wednesdays and I don't really push myself every day. I average about 50-55 mins each way and about 15mph on good days. Has anyone got any tips for resting/recovery. Obviously sleep is important but am I missing anything? Thankyou in advance

Comments

• optimisticbiker
    optimisticbiker Posts: 1,657
    I do 2 - 3days a week 30miles round trip, and I try a more gentle recovery ride most weekends. My average is 14 - 14.5mph.

The things I have found that make a difference:
    - eating properly before and after rides
    - hydrating properly during rides
    - not trying to make each ride a sprint finish on the last stage of the tour de france. Indeed some days need to be taken very gently, even if that means 10min more.
    - sleeping properly

Do you have a bike computer/heart rate monitor? This is really good to help pace yourself...
    Invacare Spectra Plus electric wheelchair, max speed 4mph :cry:
  • cyberknight
    cyberknight Posts: 1,238
    I do 10 miles each way 5 days a week with an average of 17-18 mph and as above you cannot treat every day as a time trial.
    Plan your rides,plan your food + drink and rest days .
    Listen to your body and go at a speed that is comfortable.

How fast do you rotate the pedals? if you try to push a fast gear slowly then that can tire your legs rather than pedaling a bit faster in a slower gear that strains the legs less but you go just as fast , i did not believe it till i got a speedo and tried it !A good average rpm is 80-90.