Alpine singletrack

fielonator
fielonator Posts: 100
edited May 2011 in MTB general
Howdy folks,

I'm off to France in a few weeks for a singletrack weekend riding around Samoens/Giffre Valley. I ride an '09 kona hei hei at home and it's awesome, I haven't riden anything yet that it couldn't cope with including the black and red routes at Brechfa last year.

I'm new to alpine riding though and can't make up my mind whether I should take my trusty kona and risk breaking it or hire something out there. I'm sure we won't be doing any downhill runs but the tour company have recommended bikes with more travel front and rear and a long list of spares that I don't have.

So, in short, willI enjoy riding my bike or will it prove a bit lightweight for the alpine terrain? Any advice would be great, cheers.

Comments

• Go on what ever feels most comfortable to you.
    However I would find out how much hiring a bike will cost and how much the spares will cost, that will be a good start.
    After all if you do take your bike and you take the spares and don't break anything then you come home with spares that can be used in the future.

I hope this helps.

Cheers

Chris
    GT Zaskar mmmmm yummy!
  • fielonator
    I think it'll be around £50 from the guide's stock and they say they're kona dawgs. They won't say which one though and how old they are.

I'm doing the trip through ridethealps.com, anyone done the same trip before? Or stayed in the same area, are there plenty of bike shops?
  • shx8000
    shx8000 Posts: 222
    OWe did les gets and morzine a few years back. Ended up doing DH stuff on a carbon hatdtail with 80mm travel. It was ok, but obviously I had to ride slower. My rotors weren't up to the job either. Too small so had total brake fade on some of the faster descents.
    Spares were very expensive out there as well