Advice to newbies - Buy a Computer!!

Thebigbee
Thebigbee Posts: 570
edited May 2011 in Road beginners
I am pretty new to this "proper" cycling lark.

Anyone who is interested in it then I really suggest you buy a computer.

I have found it really motivates me to do - "that extra mile - or 5"!!

Wireless is easiest like this one

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=41402

BTW - I don't work for CRC or have any affilation - just a good price!!

eg - this afternoon I wanted to just to 10 miles to keep my miles up. Did that and felt fresh as a wilted daisy and was attacking some stupidly long steep hills along the way. Hit the 10 mile goal still about 4 miles from home, and just challenged myself, against the computer to hit the 20.

I know it is not a massive achievement, but choosing ridiculous hills to ride up, when my body is saying no, and then climbing them and not getting off the bike once - gives you a great sense of accomplishment.

When you eventually get home, utterly shagged and dripping in sweat, you have to turn the shower down and you enjoy it so much more!!

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    And I say get a Garmin (any of them pretty much), it was the best money I've spent on bike stuff.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • CarleyB
    CarleyB Posts: 475
    ive just bought a garmin 500 from handtech with cadence and hr. I opened the box and frightened myself! Its gone in a drawer to tackle another day ! And I love my gadgets !
    Level 3 Road & Time Trial Coach, Level 2 Track Coach.

Blackpool Clarion CC
    http://blackpoolclarion.webs.com/

Blackpool Youth Cycling Association
    http://www.go-ride-byca.org
  • Thebigbee
    Yep - definitely get a Garmin if you can afford.. like this one here

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... K:MEWAX:IT

unfortunately it is 10 X my budget lol!!