Climbing - Zero to Hero?

pr1mate
pr1mate Posts: 3
edited May 2011 in Road beginners
Hello all,
I've been cycling for several years but I'm a complete newbie when it comes to riding in events. Etape, Sportives etc. I'm not a member of any clubs so I cant ask advice from folks about stuff.

I recently took part in the Kinross Sportive and having thought I was fairly fit I got destroyed when it came to climbing the hills. Although the engine could always do with some work I'd like to run the specs of my bike past you all. I'm concerned my granny gear isn't 'easy' enough.

I ride a Trek 1000, I'm 182cm tall weighing in around 13 stone.

Cassette (8 speed) 11-28t
Front Crank 39-53t
frame 58cm

I remember upgrading my rear cassette a couple of years ago which did make it easier to climb but still I find I'm up and out of my seat a LONG time before efveryone else.

Advice very much appreciated.

Comments

• holker
    holker Posts: 88
    Why not try a compact 50/34 chainring. This is much better for most. 53/39 only suitable for really fit young racing types, or very flat terrain. 34-28 will get you up just about everything.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Compact seems the way to go if you are doing steep hills and are a mere mortal, IMHO. Don't get me wrong, I know a few cyclists who can survive with a standard double (and good on 'em) but I know many more that need the 34 that a compact offers. The standard offering these days seems to be a 50/34 matched with a 12-25 but I would still struggle to remain sitting on 34/25 when hitting a 10%+.