Help with possible frame swap please

rtorbs
rtorbs Posts: 94
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
Help guys,

I've been riding my Boardman HT pro for about 6 months now and on the whole I like it as its really light and nimble but my mates selling a Ragley Mmmbop frame that I've fallen in love with and I was wondering what parts I can transfer over if I was to get it?

Reason I'm thinking of doing so is cos I find myself riding more downhill than pure xc and I want something that still climbs well but with more travel up front than the 100mm the boardman gives me, that and coupled with the fact I keep smashing my knees on the tapered top tube.....ouch....must be my spangly bow legs ha

so my questions are:

Firstly given what i want from the bike i.e light, nimble, ability to climb when needed but more importantly a hooligan downhill.....am I wasting my time or am I on the right track with the frame?

Then with the exception of getting a longer travel fork and a shorter 50-70mm stem (as advised), can I utilise the existing kit? Its pretty much stock with the exception of WTB saddle, moabs, 2.1 maxxis advantage and some MG1s

Will the 160mm elixir Rs be adequate enough ? I'm only just over 10 stone and don't go totally mental, if not though is it just a case of getting bigger discs or are each specific?

I don't want to spend a total mint as the forks alone are gonna pull my pants down so any help/tips/advice would be greatly appreciated

I'm not attempting to build this myself either but would like a heads up before I approach my LBS :) hence all the questions

I'm still new to all this so please be nice lol

Cheers all

Comments

• warpcow
    warpcow Posts: 1,448
    Sounds like a good plan to me. I was very close to buying an Mmmbop for similar reasons to those you describe (It was only a friend selling his (now my) FS that stopped me).