What touring bike to buy?

rego81
rego81 Posts: 3
edited May 2012 in Tour & expedition
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on the site and I am very new to the biking world so forgive my ignorance.

So anyway here's the story. A few of my buddys have planned a cycling tour this summer in Spain from Barcelona to Madrid and they have asked me to come along. Problem is I am starting from scratch and dont own a decent bike yet.

They all went last year for their first long tour from Paris to Munich and bought new bikes. Two of them bought Trek 1.2 with a granny cog, rear bags and handle bar bags. One had a heavier touring bike. I am leaning towards the Trek 1.2 type bike with a similiar setup becasue I feel I would get more day to day use out of the lighter bike when i return from the trip.

So basically I am looking for some advice on what to buy. A few things I would need is the ability to carry bags on the back and handlebars aswell as a tent and a few camping bits. I also need to be able to keep up with the more experienced bikers!!!! hahaha but i suppose that is more down to my fitness than the bike. The cheaper the bike the better but the max I can afford to spend on bike plus bags and bits is 900 euro (800 pounds).

Any suggestions would be a great help.

Thanks

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    My g/f tours on a Trek 1.2 triple with a rear rack and panniers and a bar bag, and mudguards fitted. The bike has been brilliant as an all rounder. For touring I upgraded the 8 speed sora shifters (she didn't like the thumb button) to a 9 speed set of Ultegras for £30 secondhand, and I fitted an 11-32 cassette with a long cage mtb mech, so she can tackle any hill fully loaded.

I also extended the gear cable outers so they don't interfere with her bar bag.

The bike seems pretty stable with a pannier load of about 10kg-12kg, I wouldn't want to go much more than that. When we tour I take the tent and heavy stuff.