Forum home Road cycling forum Your road bikes

What new components did you put on your bike in April? Pics?

Sleeping_menaceSleeping_menace Posts: 94
edited May 2011 in Your road bikes
Lets see pics of everyone's bike with new components purchased in April. No pics of components in the packaging please, that's really boring.
As it happens, I had a good month in April, and managed to get the bike nearly complete.


1st: kitted out the stem and aerobars with all titanium hardware:
DSCF4088-6x4.JPG

2nd: Swapped out the Ultegra cranks for some new Rotor 3d cranks and rings:
IMG-20110422-00513.jpg

3rd: Finished the drivetrain completely, including tuning the rear mech and the above mentioned crank swap:
DSCF4807-6x4.JPG

4th: Put on a new rear disc wheel,
And now, the bike is about done. May tinker with little bits and pieces here or there, but the major components I'm very happy with the feel of.
Here's the bike, finally pretty much complete..at least for now.: It feels silly fast to ride, ..am going to need to improve as a rider to keep up.
DSCF4084-6x4.JPG
........................
http://anotherdooratthe.endoftheinternet.org

Cycle related blog entries, including a few 5 minute reviews:
http://anotherdooratthe.endoftheinterne ... y/cycling/

Posts

  • hopper1hopper1 Posts: 4,389
    Some nice additions you've made there...
    I must get my camera out and refresh my bike photos on here.
    Start with a budget, finish with a mortgage!
  • PokerfacePokerface Posts: 7,960
    I'd recommend position '4' for TTing on the Rotor Rings. Nice kit you've got there. I have the same cranks/rings and similar bars.

    Don't the cables feed inside the extentions on your bars?
  • Pokerface wrote:
    I'd recommend position '4' for TTing on the Rotor Rings. Nice kit you've got there. I have the same cranks/rings and similar bars.

    Don't the cables feed inside the extentions on your bars?

    Thanks for the comments..

    I did try position four initially, but I really felt as if I could keep the power on longer in position 3 after the few rides on it. I may go back and forth as I acclimate to the rings, but for now, 3 seems to work better for my riding position.

    Yes, the cables do feed inside, but doing so means I have ugly bends to get the cables into the holes in the top of the frame for internal cable routing. Doing that meant I had kind of ugly loops there so as to be able to keep some steering. Doing it this way actually seemed to have less frontal than running them inside and leaving loops. I will take a front on pic, and you'll see what I mean.
    ........................
    http://anotherdooratthe.endoftheinternet.org

    Cycle related blog entries, including a few 5 minute reviews:
    http://anotherdooratthe.endoftheinterne ... y/cycling/
  • PokerfacePokerface Posts: 7,960
    No - I get it. I have similar bars, but my extentions sit on top of the basebar (Aura model) - so the cable feed into the frame is easier.
  • taimurtaimur Posts: 173
    Here is my latest accessory.

    IMG-20110428-00034.jpg

    IMG-20110428-00035.jpg

    IMG-20110428-00038.jpg

    Cateye V3 computer with HRM, Cadence and the regular stuff
    1996 Cannondale M500 CAAD3 (Hardtail MTB)
    2007 Cannondale F700 CAAD
    2010 Cube Agree SL (Road, retired)
    2011 Cube Litening Super HPC DI2 Frame, with Ultegra Di2 Components
  • pitchshifterpitchshifter Posts: 1,476
    Whole new groupset.

    Ultegra 6700 cranks, cassette, chain, and rear mech
    Dura ace 7800 front mech & cables
    105 5700 shifters
    Fizik tape

    281762f2.jpg
  • yayayaya Posts: 411
    Well...

    Frame: Switched from a 2007 CR1 PRO to a 2009 RS...HUGH improvement!!!
    New bars: Easton EA70 Aero
    New bar tape Easton cork (NICE!!!)
    New chain PC1070

    May will see me buying another seatpost (the one in the pic is borrowed from my MTB) and possibly a new rear Krylion tyre

    img87211200.jpg
  • christurbochristurbo Posts: 432
    New Stem and Rubber.

    P1040198-1.jpg

    P1040183.jpg
Sign In or Register to comment.