Skyline at Afan - best ride in AGES!!

miss notax
miss notax Posts: 2,572
edited May 2011 in Routes
Hello :D

We found ourselves up at Afan yesterday, and despite all the talk of diversions etc we though we would ride the full Skyline (i've never done it before) - and I loved it :D

Fab ride, and some of the paths for the diversions were quite tricky, so not all boring fire road. Some great loose rocky descents too.

Does anyone know how long it is with all the diversions though? We did it in 3 hour 33 mins (including a few stops for a chat / pee / drink etc) which I was really pleased with, and a new personal best on the Whites / Skyline climb of 35 mins to where the black splits off :D:D

Loads of people on the trail, so Hello to anyone we saw out there (especially to the bloke that looked positively shocked as I shot past him on the climb :wink::lol: )!!

IMGP2694.jpg
Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away....

Riding a gorgeous ano orange Turner Burner!

Sponsor the CC2CC at http://www.justgiving.com/cc2cc

Comments

• dying to do this ride before it closes but at the moment in not sure if my fitness is quite up to it! only just getting back into things after 5 years off the bike :D

have heard nothing but good things about it!

3 1/2 hours must be a bloody quick pace though? im gonna aim for coffee and cakes at about 3 hours and back to the car at about 7 hours : lol
    Cube Acid 2011
  • miss notax
    3 1/2 hours must be a bloody quick pace though? im gonna aim for coffee and cakes at about 3 hours and back to the car at about 7 hours : lol

It was actually much nicer and less painful than I was expecting...!!

For me, the trail has a really great 'flow' which made it much easier to ride a bit more quickly. We were on a bit of a mission, to enjoy the trail but to push ourselves a bit... I think we overtook about 20 people (and no-one overtook us - which is unheard of for me 8) )