what equipment should i get

trigg780
trigg780 Posts: 7
edited May 2011 in MTB beginners
picking up a boardman comp from halfords on cycle 2 work scheme tomorrow, will have £90 left over, soooo what should i spend it on ?

i'm thinking , shorts,gloves and helmet (giro indicator), should i be getting something else ?
i'm new to mtb so have nothing.

Comments

• rippleman
    rippleman Posts: 27
    spare tube, tyre levers, pump, helmet (that'll probably do most of your £90)

then worry about aesthetics afterwards
  • angry_bird
    angry_bird Posts: 3,786
    Get a puncture repair kit with tyre levers in it, patching inner tubes is much cheaper than replacing them each time you get a puncture, that said a spare tube won't hurt.

Pump, helmet, if you can afford it then some gloves to give your hands some padding and protection.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    What Angry bird said.
    I generally cary a spare tube, to swap over if I get a puncture when out, then I fix the punctured tube when I get home, and it then becomes my spare for the next ride.
  • Stan..
    Stan.. Posts: 9
    To the list above I would add some chain lube. Also if you are at Halfords they have a 3 for 2 offer on at the moment and a £10 voucher if you spent over £50 so see what deal they will do.
    I only started riding last September and what has been listed above is all I needed although I have pick up some winter gloves and some other bits since then.
  • 70s_kid
    70s_kid Posts: 56
    edited April 2011
    How about these? I started a couple of months ago and have spent about that much:

Bell Slant Helmet - £30 Halfords (normal price £45)
    Park Rescue Tool - £14.99 CRC (normal price £16.99)
    Royal Pro Gloves - £13.98 CRC (normal price £27.99)
    Blackburn Mammoth 2 stage pump - £9 CRC (normal price £24.99)
    Continental MTB inner tube £2.99 Evans Cycles (normal price £4.99)