Commuting with one Pannier

Rapid Rider
Rapid Rider Posts: 9
edited April 2011 in Commuting general
Hi, I commute with a pannier on one side. I notice I seem to be having problem with spoke coming loose or breaking on the other side of the wheel to where the pannier normally is. Question is does having a pannier/all the weight on one side of the bike cause problems with wheels. Should I split the load across two panniers. If that makes any sense? :?

Comments

• Cafewanda
    Cafewanda Posts: 2,788
    Hi RR. I frequently commute with one (loaded) pannier and haven't had any problems with spokes or the wheels. I would have thought if your rack is on the bike correctly there shouldn't be any such problems apart from balancing and you soon sort that out.

However, I'm no expert so I'm sure others will stop by with better suggestions :)
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,328
    Never caused me a problem. Had a case of beer in one pannier the other day. Balance was strange, but otherwise no problem.
  • shm_uk
    shm_uk Posts: 683
    I guess if you over-fill the pannier with heavy stuff you'll just end up riding around in circles.
  • snailracer
    snailracer Posts: 968
    If the spokes are breaking on the back wheel, well the back wheel is "dished" and asymmetrical anyway - I would expect spokes on a dished wheel to break on one side more than the other.
  • Jay dubbleU
    Jay dubbleU Posts: 3,159
    Cafewanda wrote:
    Hi RR. I frequently commute with one (loaded) pannier and haven't had any problems with spokes or the wheels. I would have thought if your rack is on the bike correctly there shouldn't be any such problems apart from balancing and you soon sort that out.

However, I'm no expert so I'm sure others will stop by with better suggestions :)

I always commute with one pannier including laptop - never had any problems - TBH I don't really notice the weight as far as balance goes.
  • durrin
    durrin Posts: 123