Are some supplements a must?

Tom85
Tom85 Posts: 13
edited May 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi, im new to mtb'ing allthough i used to be a keen gym goer so the mass amount of supplements on offer is not really a suprise i just have no idea what i should be using.
I have a protein shake after riding or any type of excercise for that matter as it seems to help reduce my aches n pains the next day. just wondering if anything else is a must, is it ok to just drink juice while out riding or should i have some sort of magic powder added?

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Beer and Cake does most things.

this may be better asked in the Health, Fitness & Training section.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • joshtp
    joshtp Posts: 3,966
    I like Vit B, but that's not for cycling, more just for general. You only need one capsule a day... it's really good for your energy levels, it helps you to burn your carbs.
    I like bikes and stuff
  • normal healthy diet is pretty much a key if you want to get good performance.

just dont overdo junk food ect the useal stuff that you probaly allready know.

Multi vits are allways good but exspencive if you want to keep using them.
    London2Brighton Challange 100k!
    http://www.justgiving.com/broxbourne-runners
  • shm_uk
    shm_uk Posts: 683

And depending which propoganda you choose to believe, if you're eating a balanced diet then vitamin supplements are a complete waste of money...

From my experience, I used to use a load of energy powders, gels, protein powders, recovery drinks, multi-vitamins, bla bla bla

Cost a fortune.

Now, I just make sure I eat properly, use bananas & soreen as mid-ride snacks, make my own 'energy drink' from water, OJ & a little salt, make my own 'recovery drink' with milk, bananas, whey protein & cocoa powder. Stopped taking the vitamin pills altogether.