Complete Novice just bought a MTB

enginesuck
enginesuck Posts: 5
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,

Im a complete MTB novice apart from taking my old ralieigh to the shop and back, Ive been looking for a new hobby while ive been stuck out here in afghanistan with the RAF (less than a week to go till i get home ) Anyway ive been fancying mountain biking for a while now and i live in Morayshire which has loads of decent trails nearby so in a moment of ebay madness ive gone and bought a Cube Acid 2010 hardtail for £500 , the bike is in as new condition and is only a few month old. I have a couple of questions so here goes,

Did i pay a good price for the bike ?
Are there any basic maintenance tools i should buy and where is the best place to get them ?
Any other tips greatfully received !

Regards ES

Comments

• Holyzeus
    Holyzeus Posts: 354
    Second hand prices are always subjective, it's certainly a very good bike you wont be disappointed.
    There's lots of info on here regarding maintenance and cleaning, do a search and have fun!
    Nicolai CC
  • c00lh4nd
    c00lh4nd Posts: 18
    Welcome Enginesuck

IMHO you have a good bike for a good price that'll cope with whatever us beginners will throw at them.. I would propose the following kit.

Small day pack (depending on how long you are out for) to hold drink, scoff, spare inner tube or tyre and the basic tools.

I would recommend a small multipurpose tool (bit like a Swiss army knife but for bikes), tyre irons, set of allan keys and some form of Teflon lubricant.

Next in my list would be gloves with padding on the palms are good and the essential helmet from Scott or Specialized. I would also recommend some glasses, sun or riding to keep the flies out of your eyes :-)

After that I would start to look at shoes.. Personally I prefer Merriel walking shoes, but I am still on flat peddles.