I'm new to this pedal power lark :D

Cog Head
Cog Head Posts: 53
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
hi, im Brad, im from Tamworth in staffs.
im new to all this pedal power stuff, im used to riding super bikes :D and im a complete adrenaline junkie, petrol head... anything with wheels, that's expensive, fast and dangerous... im in :D

since starting my new job, i always have lots of spare time on the evenings, and since my new job means i no longer do much physical work, i seem to be gaining weight! so, since ive always wanted a proper mountain bike, i started to read reviews for entry level bikes upto £600, and i come across the Carrera Fury, all the reviews seem to be pretty good, and the spec sheet seems to impress people who know what it all means (im very new to this)
so i went to Halfrauds last night, and had a sit on one, and spoke to the lad there who was very helpful, i wanted to look at the bourdman comp, which was £650, and he explained that the bikes are essentially identical, apart from the slightly better frame and the swanky stickers. so i went with the Carrera.
got it home and built it myself, copper graced EVERYTHING, so it dosent go rusty when i get it filthy. 8)

i went out for my first outing today after work, i think i covered about 4 miles, i didnt realise how easy it is to cover ground on one of these! :shock: i went through some fields, and up a big hill where ive seen others on MTB's on some little trails, but to my absolute joy, when i turned around from admiring the view from the top of the hill, i noticed that all the wind had escaped from my rear tyre... :cry: but i got some wind back in with my little pump i got with the bike, and got the old man to come pick me up in the van... o well... ill get a repair kit and try again i think... ounce my arse has stopped hurting :shock:

anyways, here's some pic's of today's antics

photorx.th.jpg
photo11v.th.jpg
photo10f.th.jpg
photo9k.th.jpg
photo1fd.th.jpg
photo8fg.th.jpg
photo7jn.th.jpg