Groupset advise - Shimano 105 vs Shimano Tiagra vs SRAM Apex

chris_bass
chris_bass Posts: 4,913
edited April 2011 in Road buying advice
Hi

I am looking to get a new bike, the specs are all pretty similar except for the groupsets on each.

the Shimano 105 bike is the most expensive (by about £200) but is also slightly lighter, and the other two are about the same price.

which would you go for if they both ride and feel as good as each other?

I'm a road bike newbie so go easy on me!
www.conjunctivitis.com - a site for sore eyes

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    As far as I am concerned, 105 and Tiagra feel the same to me.
  • dawebbo
    dawebbo Posts: 456
    Can you link the 3 bikes?

Without seeing the total package it's hard to say what I'd recommend.

I'd avoid 9 speed tiagra - old technology etc.

The new (5700) 105 is great, definitely better than Apex (imo), but I don't it is worth an extra £200, but there maybe other bits on the bike to justify this.

Also, are these full groupsets or are they using cheaper brakes / chainsets?
  • danowat
    dawebbo wrote:
    The new (5700) 105 is great, definitely better than Apex (imo), but I don't it is worth an extra £200, but there maybe other bits on the bike to justify this.

Definately better?, how so?.

I have 3 bikes, Tiagra, 105 and SRAM Rival, I can't say with any conviction that any one is "definately better" than the other.
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    I'd avoid 9 speed tiagra - old technology etc.

+1

Doesn't the new 105 route all the cables under the bar tape? I didn't think Tiagra did. Looks a lot cleaner.
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • avoidingmyphd
    avoidingmyphd Posts: 1,154