HELP - carbon fork expander snapped off inside steerer...!!!

The Big Cheese
The Big Cheese Posts: 8,651
edited April 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Decided today (and wish I hadn't) to fit the 'Specific' Secialized carbon fork expander into my futureshock forks, now remember this is the one that COMES WITH the fork,

Now, I loosened it off, inserted into the steerer, and in it went, although the top part of it (let's call it 'the wedge' was sitting 2-3mm outside the steerer.

Now Spesh say that when you tighten it, it pulls itself into the steerer.

So I started to tighten....

BANG, the bolt head snaps off.

WHAT THE FECK!!!????

What can I do as I cann't get the bugger out?

Specialized are gonna have to sort this..... I did everything by the book, and yet this has happened...

I'm a pretty competent mechanic, so this wasn't user error.

Or shall I loose 20mm off the steerer (which I wanted to do anyway) and get LBS to cut through the lot and remove the expander...

To say I am majorly pissed off is an understatement....

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    If you were going to cut it, just cut it. Save giving yourself ulcers and a possible stroke.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    can you find a pic of this expander.

I think the solution will involve a hammer BUT lets see how it is put together first.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • The Big Cheese
    nicklouse wrote:
    can you find a pic of this expander.

I think the solution will involve a hammer BUT lets see how it is put together first.

Hi Nick,

Here is the link to the installation guide.
    http://cdn.specialized.com/OA_MEDIA/pdf ... ide_r2.pdf