So, this cycling malarkey...?

visesh
visesh Posts: 2
edited April 2011 in The bottom bracket
Around a fortnight ago, I bought a (relatively cheapo, non-branded) road bike from an LBS and was keen to test it out. I'm very new to the world of cycling (apart from pottering about around town - less than 2 miles at a time), and want to take it up as a hobby and work on my relatively poor cardiovascular fitness.

In the last week or so, I've clocked about 40 miles in town. I am currently commuting to another city 40 miles away for 'work' and have my final exams coming soon so have relatively little time to cycle at the moment... The bike feels great and is really a step up from the previous BOSs I've owned. It feels awesome overtaking other cyclist and car with relative east! I live in a very cycle friendly student town and have had a couple of bikes in the past which I used on a regular basis locally.

So, this morning, a few friends and I decided to go on a nice 40 mile round-trip in the sun to one of the nearby towns. We were planning to leave at 1030 and hoped to be back for 1430 (after enjoying a beer garden for lunch).

However, as I set out to meet the group, I noticed that my rear tyre was flat. Despite being the first p*ncture I've had in 5+ years, I thought nothing of it and started changing the tube. However, this new, pristine tube, sprung a leak as I was pumping it up for the first time.

Fine, I got another fresh tube out and was planned to carry a patch kit for the trip. This tube was fine at 100psi, but as I was reattaching the tyre to the frame, POP. A loud explosion. Out came that tube, and a quick glance reveled a 3mm, circular hole. Now, I had thoroughly checked the rim and tyre for sources of the puncture after the first two flats. The flats were in different locations relative to the tyre. We patched the two tubes I used earlier, and they held up relatively well.