Commuting 26.5 miles Plympton to Newton Abbot

jeffjeff84
jeffjeff84 Posts: 3
edited April 2011 in Commuting general
Hi
I am new to this so be gentle. My job has moved from Plymouth to Newton Abbot and to avoid expense I am considering cycling the 26.5 miles (ONE way) commute from Plympton to Newton Abbot. Does anyone do this commute or these kinda miles? Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks JeffJeff

Comments

• 53 miles a day? how many days per week? TBH as a Scotsman in the rural Highlands I avoid the A9 like the plague. Having looked at the route you propose are you taking the A385(looks dualled) then on to the A383 into NAbbot? There's no really significant hills there, you'd mainly get a tailwind going to work if prevailing SW is in force. But then after a hard days graft, back into the wind....?Nasty... Personally I'd go via the backroads but by god you'd need a gps the roads down there are like a patchwork quilt!! :lol:
    Commuting on a busy dual carriageway the emissions from vehicles would probably do more harm than good.....
    I'd be inclined to research the train times/costs and half the distance involved, or if you drive take the bike and park it somewhere quiet but safe halfway and cycle the rest..
    Depends of course how fit you are too. If you are then go for it, or do alternating days to start with, or only when the forecast is good even better! :roll:
    Good luck.... :)
  • I'm interested to see who cycles the furthest. I'm 76 miles from my work in Perth and had considered leaving the van in Pitlochry and doing the 25 miles or so each way during the summer(occasionally that is, not every day!)- but that would be on the dreaded(mainly single) A9 and death would come swiftly for sure hit by an HGV or nutter...The Sustrans route isn't even viable it's all over the place and hilly! :?
  • EKE_38BPM
    EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
    I don't know your route, but 53 miles a day, every day, is a hell of a lot of cycling.