Boardman HT Pro 2011 - First Impressions

c00lh4nd
c00lh4nd Posts: 18
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi All I am a Noob to the site, been a lurker for about 6 weeks and thought I'd make an effort to contribute...

Friday last week using the excellent advice gathered from the Bike Radar forums, I emptied my piggy bank and plumbed for a new sexy looking and low in mass Boardman HT Pro MTB from the 2011 range at Halfords. This was an eventual choice over the Trek 6300 and a replacement to my trusty 7 year old Carrera Kraken which I will now hand down to my 15 year old son.

The bike is great but, despite having a test ride, is taking a surpising time to get used to and I thought I'd pass on my humble opinion about this hoping my experience will help.

1) Halfords; Above average, certainly 7/10. The bike seems tom be well setup, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Going as far as to even help me load the bike in my car though I would have expected them to have more knowledge about the specifics on the bike such as fork tuning.

2) Boardman Bikes; Very little, if anything, by way of information is given with the bike with regards to tuning the forks, brakes etc. I am even struggling to find information online at Rockshox etc.

3) The bike; A number of little things that I did not notce when I did the test ride.
3 a) The gearing seems to have lower ratios than I remembered, could almost believe the bike has not the capability to out perform the Carrera for flat out speed, so it is prooving a little more challenging to ride, more gear changing needed.
3 b) Odd that I missed this on thew test ride.. There is no indication as to what gear you are in on the handle bars. I guess this is to save on weight, but is a bit of a pain.
3 c) When moving at speed (well my speed) there is a degree of resonant vibration from somewhere.. Fix this on the 6 week service interval.
3 d) The seat.... wow !! Been walking like John Wane with piles since last weekend's ride :P