Cycling with a bin bag on

smv
smv Posts: 6
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi All

Im new to mountain biking i am just looking to lose a bit of weight and build some strength up before going on longer rides. Do you think riding with a big bag underneath my bike gear will help me lose some much needed weight. Or am I wasting my time. I have started by doing 6-7 miles per night.

Comments

• concorde
    concorde Posts: 1,008
    Lol. Bin bags dont work. They make you sweat more. So you lose water weight and become dehydrated. That's it! Dont lose any fat. 6-7 miles isnt very far either.
  • smv
    ha ha thanks ,,,friggin is for me lol
  • Concorde wrote:
    Lol. Bin bags dont work. They make you sweat more. So you lose water weight and become dehydrated. That's it! Dont lose any fat. 6-7 miles isnt very far either.
    and thats putting it nicely i assume? :shock:
    Coveryourcar.co.uk RT Tester
    north west of england.
  • smv
    only had the bike 5 days giz a chance will ye
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    smv wrote:
    only had the bike 5 days giz a chance will ye
    I dunno, I think he's right. I mean 6-7 miles is -1 mile. That's one mile LESS of excercise than you'd done before getting on the bike :lol:

Keep it up, man, it'll get easier in time. Unfortunately, there's no real healthy shortcuts to losing weight.
  • mak3m
    mak3m Posts: 1,394
    Lol it will come

Push up your speed lil by lil, take on a route with a bit of climbing and your legs will get stronger each ride

Then the distance will come

Fatty like me can do 15 mile maintenance rides few times a week then a couple of big rides 30-50 miles time permitting

If I can do it anyone can, just got to build up, if you haven't done much cycling before you are using whole new muscle groups so let them get used to it then punish them :P
  • Forget the bin bag try using clingwrap :wink:
  • smv
    Forget the bin bag try using clingwrap :wink:
    Now your getting kinky ha ha