Shock pump pressure - Weight

mattblue
mattblue Posts: 88
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

Could someone advise the recommended pressure for front suspension when it comes to weight ?

I have a boardman pro HT 2010.

Cheers

Matt
Boardman pro ht 2010

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    what every is needed to give the sag you want.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • d3matt
    d3matt Posts: 510
    Doesn't your shock have a sticker on it detailing the pressure for the weight of the rider?

Riding this Boardman Team FS 2010. Also trying my first blog.
  • mattblue
    nicklouse wrote:

Sorry as a total novice and being quite a big chap i dont really want to break things...and sag ??...again total newbie sorry
    Boardman pro ht 2010
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    mattblue wrote:
    nicklouse wrote:

Sorry as a total novice and being quite a big chap i dont really want to break things...and sag ??...again total newbie sorry
    Sag is the amount that the suspension moves when you're on the bike, in your normal riding gear, in your normal riding position.

Set the pressure so that you use around 25% of the fork or shock's travel as sag.
  • mattblue
    Thanks for the tip re sticker - just checked and said i should set to 135 as im over 200lbs in weight...just need to buy a shock pump now

Cheers again
    Boardman pro ht 2010
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    edited April 2011
    Don't rely on the sticker - set the sag on the bike.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • mattblue
    So use 25% of 135 ?
    Boardman pro ht 2010
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    no.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    25% of the travel.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."