Running routine.

matt.price
matt.price Posts: 5
edited March 2011 in Health, fitness & training
Hey,

i was wondering if someone could wip me up some sort of running guide.
How many days a week?
for how long?
etc.. and any ideas on how to make it a tad more enjoyable ?

don't want anything over the top.
something i can keep up!

many thanks

matt

Comments

• springtide9
    springtide9 Posts: 1,731
    Take a look at something like:
    http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/racing/cl ... s/107.html

Not an expert, but followed a guide from the Bath Half website which was very similar (although that is now gone).

The basic principles are the same for cycling etc. It also depends on what you are training for (as in distance). But basically, you want a long run, interval, and steady pace.

The shorter distances you can just dovetail into any other activities. Think as a general rule you want to run three times a week if you can.

As I said, I'm no expert as I have only ever run one Half Marathon (and not really a runner either). But I did the Half pretty recently and obviously got a bit of advice from a few people that I know (and the gym)

When increasing pace or distance, they advise that shouldn't increase both at the same time as well as no more than 10% a week. And every fourth week, you should take a step back.
    As a non runner I can safely say that I ignored this advice as I only had three/four months to train, but I did pay in terms of suffering knee pain etc.

Will start running again once a cycling event out of the way, but will go back and try and build up properly when I start again.

Forgot, you had a question that I missed. I didn't. I ignored it.
    and any ideas on how to make it a tad more enjoyable ?
    Headphones? A friend used to say he used to watch the rugby while on the treadmill. TBH, I think I would find running dull even if I had taken hallucinogenic drugs (joke!)