Sirrus or Allez?

Sheikhus
Sheikhus Posts: 40
edited April 2011 in Commuting chat
Hi guys,

Another newbie here, been lurking for a few months now, but have finally been brought out of the shadows by rocketing fuel prices, an increasing resentment of paying to use the tube at rush hour, and the improving weather. It is time to stop reading, and start cycling. 

So I need a bike. It is going to need to carry me and laptop 12 miles or so across north London, from Harrow to Archway and occasionally to Westminster.  

I had been considering getting a Specialized Sirrus Sport and gathered that it could take mudguards, panniers etc. so should be about right for what I wanted. I was pretty set on this until I got sized up on a 2010 Allez 16 the other day, which was pretty nifty. Now it's got me thinking a little.

So which should I get? The sirrus seems like the more sensible option for a noob who needs a versatile bike for year round commuting, but the allez seems good value for the 2010 models and might make my journey easier. I haven't cycled properly for about 10 years or so, and can't help thinking that flat handlebars would be better whilst getting used to cycling in traffic, and I've never ridden drop bars before. Plus the chaps at bike shops seem to be nudging me towards flat bars too. But how much better can the allez be? Am I better off with the sirrus this year then upgrading to a higher spec road bike next year? Would the sirrus really be better come winter? Aarrrgh!

At this point I should say that apart from what I have been reading here on BR, I know nothing about componentry so am not clear on which will offer the best durability, performance etc. 

I'm pretty sure I'll end up like one of the Nodders from the 'nodderpocalysenow' thread but hope in time to become a seasoned pro like fatboybiker!

Any comments or advice would be most welcome. 

Thanks!!
Sheikhus
Specialized Secteur - FCN 6

Comments

• jonny_trousers
    jonny_trousers Posts: 3,588