Choosing a groupset

FSR_XC
FSR_XC Posts: 2,258
edited March 2011 in Road buying advice
I'm sure some of this probably gets asked a lot.

I am looking to buy a new bike and I'm torn between getting SRAM Rival or Shimano 105 groupsets.

I have been using 105 for 3 years now and have no problems with it.

However I have switched to SRAM on my MTB and find it more positive and needing less maintenance.

Are SRAM road gears the same?

Which offers the best value?

What are the advantages of each?
Stumpjumper FSR 09/10 Pro Carbon, Genesis Vapour CX20 ('17)Carbon, Rose Xeon CW3000 '14, Raleigh R50

http://www.visiontrack.com

Comments

• rc856
    rc856 Posts: 1,144
    Man, that gets asked a lot!!! :)
    Got an LBS you can go to for a test ride?
    I'm sure they both work as well as each other so it's what suits you.
    I prefer the ergonomics of the Campag shifters etc.
  • PeterBL
    PeterBL Posts: 209
    Exactly, look at ergonomics and see what you prefer. New 105 is also changed a bit from yours.
  • dawebbo
    dawebbo Posts: 456
    I've used all three manufacturers and find there's not a major difference in terms of performance or maintenance. Imo the only notable differences are: ergonomics, appearance and weight. Given you're looking at the lower tier, I don't think weight is a big consideration, so it's really down to which looks and feels nicer to you. My personal preference at that price range would be centaur > 105 > rival.
  • rogerthecat
    rogerthecat Posts: 669
    Running all 3, IMO SRAM every day of the week. I could give reasons but there’s no point as it's down to you. All I will say is that SRAM is more Efficient IMO.
  • dawebbo
    Running all 3, IMO SRAM every day of the week. I could give reasons but there’s no point as it's down to you. All I will say is that SRAM is more Efficient IMO.

Just curious - in what way do you think it is more efficient?
  • rogerthecat
    rogerthecat Posts: 669