Cadence

pastryboy
pastryboy Posts: 1,385
edited March 2011 in Commuting chat
I've had a look on google and can't find that much information. What's the deal with cadence in terms of what's good/bad/great? Do you measure it on a commute or is it for serious roadie types?

I recently started riding my fixed gear at 42/16 way down from the 50/17 I had before to change things up and it's much more enjoyable this way - it got me wondering about how fast I'm pedalling.

At 29mph (about as fast as I can get it on my commute) I'm spinning at 140 though not for long. I can hold about 22 without any trouble in good conditions which is 107. I think that's quite high, but what's reasonable/average?

Comments

• pianoleo
    pianoleo Posts: 135
    I'm not a fixie rider so I couldn't be specific, but from what I can tell, most nodders and novices will default to about 60rpm. Somewhere between 80 and 90 you start using fast twitch muscle fiber as opposed to slow twitch, and that puts more strain on your cardiovascular system and less strain on your legs.

Faster pedalling = sustainable for longer periods of time. On my (geared) bike, I aim for 100 and average about 95. Anything beyond 120 just seems silly to me - I find that one leg's pulling the other round.
  • Fixxxer87
    Fixxxer87 Posts: 45
    I've heard that anywhere between 80 - 120 is considered the target zone; and that most people fall way below this (I assume that 'most' people includes BSO riders, fair weather cyclists and everyone else who rides in a blue moon).

I'm going to by the Polar Cadence sensor when I get a chance, but my current estimate is that on an avg speed of 25km/hr whilst moving (about 15 - 16 mph), I usually run at those sort of revolutions. Going down the hill on Finchley Road I expect to hit 130 - 140 at 35 - 40km/h.

I also ride 42/16 (Spesh Langster standard setup. Tried 42/14 but it wasn't spinny enough).