carrera crossfire 2 or subway 2 from halfords

postiepaul3
postiepaul3 Posts: 6
edited March 2011 in Commuting chat
Hi there, I'm a newbie here and to the cycling world, but I have decided to cycle to work for health and financial reasons, (get rid of one car and save some pounds and lose some pounds)
So I'm participating in the cycle to work scheme and will have a voucher for £300.
I have reserved a carrera crossway 2 at Halfords for £279.99 this was done last week and the bike has since gone up to £339.99 (strange) it said it was previously £349.99 but any way the £279.99 price is secure as I reserved this upon waiting for vouchers. But the subway 2 is now cheaper than the crossway 2 at £299.99 this was more expensive than the crossway 2 last week. So the big question is do i stick with the crossfire 2 at £279.99 or go for the subway 2 at £299.99????
Which is the best bike spec ect...
btw I intend using my bike on red ways ( flat pathways mainly) in Milton Keynes for approx 3 and a half miles each way.
Thanks in advance for all help for me! The novice cyclist. :)
[/b]

Comments

• dunno but take it to a decent bike shop when you get it so they can check its set up properly.
    Veni Vidi cyclo I came I saw I cycled
    exercise.png
  • mudcow007
    mudcow007 Posts: 3,861
    dunno but take it to a decent bike shop when you get it so they can check its set up properly.

+1

my nephew bought a bike from Halfords, rode it home and came of it 300 yards down the road, they hadnt tightened the stem (thing that attaches handle bars to the bike) so when he turned the bars, the handlebars turned but the bike carried on going.

he wasnt a happy chappy

i cant find the two models you mention on the site. Are they old stock?
    Keeping it classy since '83
  • HI mudcow007,