Which is worse

Flyingbogey
Flyingbogey Posts: 352
edited March 2011 in Commuting chat
The two most regular dangerous occurrences for my commute are:

The annoyed motorist who intentionally for whatever reason tries to scare you

The bad driver who is oblivious to your presence or the havoc they cause.

They are both a menace but which if either is worse. I have had plenty of experience with both but i think the one that will get me in the end is the 2nd one. I only survive meetings with them because i have recognised the danger and taken action. One of these days i wont see it coming. The 1st i reckon could do more harm but at least they know what they're doing...
Bianchi Nirone C2C FCN4

Comments

• rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,402
    I think I tend to agree. As the former driver has a specific aim in mind (albeit an unreasonable one), he is slightly more predictable, whereas the latter is likely to be lost in their own little world.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003
    IMO, the 2nd type is worse by a mile. If you're oblivious to your mistakes, then you never learn from them. At least if someone is trying to intimidate you, you would hope that they're still exercising a degree of self control to avoid being arrested/scratching their vehicle!
  • The two most regular dangerous occurrences for my commute are:

The annoyed motorist who intentionally for whatever reason tries to scare you

The bad driver who is oblivious to your presence or the havoc they cause.

They are both a menace but which if either is worse.

Brilliant article here:

http://www.ecotopia.com/webpress/stupidity/

To precis: "A stupid person is a person who caused losses to another person or to a group of persons while himself deriving no gain and even possibly incurring losses."