Paris-Roubaix sportive tyre

Brocade
Brocade Posts: 433
Folks,
Am doing this sportive... Should I use a clincher or tubulars (zipp 404) ? Any tyre recommendations if clincher ?
Thanks in advance
BMC Pro Machine
Enigma Ego

Comments

• Butterd2
    Butterd2 Posts: 937
    I have no experience on tubs but recently did some riding in Flanders on the pave using 25mm Conti GP 4 Seasons as I wanted something a bit tougher than the GP4000's I normally use and I have to say given the beating they took I was impressed.
    Scott CR-1 (FCN 4)
    Pace RC200 FG Conversion (FCN 5)
    Giant Trance X

My collection of Cols
  • thiscocks
    thiscocks Posts: 549
    clincher unless you have a team car behind you with spare wheels... Also I would go for 28s over the cobbles. Sounds fun, how long is it?
  • Brocade
    161km I believe, so significantly shorter. Only 31km of cobbles. Thanks for your advice.
    BMC Pro Machine
    Enigma Ego
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I'd definitely not use Zipps on that Sportive, fine if you are racing and get the wheels for free but otherwise...

I'd go for some high spoke count clinchers with 25 or 28mm tyres.
  • Brocade
    Thanks
    BMC Pro Machine
    Enigma Ego
  • I'm planning to run 28mm GP 4 seasons. Think girth is the mos important consideration as pinch-flats are the main worry. Also they should do most to absorb some of the harshness and grip beter as the contact patch will be larger.

I say this never having ridden any sections of PR pavé but feels right from exprience of he shitty roads of Surrey and London in the wet.
  • maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    I run 28mm GP4Seasons on the commuter. Burly.
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614