1st proper bike for leisure use

Daneel
Daneel Posts: 7
edited March 2011 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I'm just getting into to cycling after a long brake (last time I did much I was 16, I'm now 31!), and I'm looking for a hybrid (I think!). There doesn't seem to be a forum for hybrids, and most of my riding will be on roads, so I thought I'd try this forum (please point me in the right direction if I got things wrong).

I'm 5'6", 29" inside leg, and so thought about a 17" frame would be right for me. When I went into Evans Cycles today however, I ended up on a Trek 7.1 FX 15" frame. I took it out for a ride, and it seemed pretty good. The price is £300. Although the bike seemed felt good, I have nothing to compare it to, so I thought I'd find a friendly forum to ask on before parting with my cash.

I'll mostly be using the bike at the weekends, for leisure. If I do go off road, it won't be anything demanding. I expect I'll want to add mudguards, get a lock and helmet of course. Not sure what else I might need, but I want to bear these things in mind when working out the total cost.

Any suggestions on other bikes I should look at, or should I just go with the Trek FX?

Comments

• If the Trek felt good and the price is what you are happy to pay then go for it!

Trek, Giant or Specialized are all good name brands and will have similarly priced bikes but you could spend ages riding them and comparing them and get more confused.

If you get on with this bike you will probably need to move onto a higher specced bike and the Trek should be easy enough to sell on or cheap enough to keep as a run around.

Get the bike and learn how much fun it is to ride again and come back and ask when you need something more expensive to bleed your bank account dry like the rest of us. :wink:
  • garrynolan
    garrynolan Posts: 560