Riding everyday

struck
struck Posts: 320
edited March 2011 in MTB general
I've been riding almost everyday for about 3 years and getting frustrated with how often i have to replace parts even though i generally keep everything clean and maintained. I run 1x9 and bought new saint cassette, shimano 9spd hg93 chain, jockey wheels and chain ring in novemeber. After 3 months its all worn and needs replacing, been a harsh winter but not what I expected after paying so much for top end shimano stuff... so is it really worth it or am I best getting the cheapest cassette,chainring and chain and running them til their finished?

Anyone know how long they should last, commuting everday about 3-4miles?

Thanks

Comments

• RevellRider
    RevellRider Posts: 1,794
    Generally, when I was commuting I replace my chain and cassette between 1000-2000 miles and my chain ring maybe twice that. I'd run a cheap set up and save the decent kit for my other bikes.

Now I have a single speed bike for commuter use and I get about 5000 miles out of each chain
  • On a bike with daily usage you definitely don't want top of the line stuff. I'd say deore at most, at least you get 3 or 4 changes out of a single change of saint costs.
  • Arkady001
    Arkady001 Posts: 201
    I commuted about 40 miles a day, 5 days a week all year round for about three years.
    Chains would be replaced about every two months and cassettes every four. Chain-rings annually.
    That bike didn't get my full level of TLC on a daily basis: a daily wipe-down and a blast with WD-40 to stop it rusting away in the winter and a drag-through with an oily rag to keep the chain working. Slightly more if it got wet.
    A 'proper' clean once a week.

Buy the cheapest bits you can find - nothing lasts well in that environment.