Carerra Virtuoso or Trek 1.1c or other - Advice ?

dmont
dmont Posts: 74
edited February 2011 in Road beginners
Hi Guys,

I'm looking and getting a road bike, either a cyclo cross or racer. My budget is £450 max.
Currently I'm riding a MTB with road tyres on but I'd like to get something a bit more focused..

I've found 2 bikes locally that I quite like the Carerra Virtuoso ( http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165710 ) and the Trek 1.1c ( http://www.alpinebikes.com/shop/trek/11-c-2010/ )

As I'm very new to racers, is there any advice you can give me... Is there much difference between those 2 bikes, eg quality parts... or is there another bike in that price range that's a no brainer which I should get..

Many thanks

Dmont
Riding - Voodoo Bantu

Comments

• andy46
    andy46 Posts: 1,666
    I can't really comment on the carerra, but I have that very Trek model. It's also my first road bike and i've got no complaints, I love it :)

I got mine from Evans cycles for £420 so if you can find one there you'll save a bit extra.

Also there's some good second hand bargins on ebay, but there's nothing like picking up a shiny new bike!
    2019 Ribble CGR SL

2015 Specialized Roubaix Sport sl4

2014 Specialized Allez Sport
  • They do look similar with the exception being the front forks, the Trek has aluminium forks while the Carerra has steel ones.

In theory the steel forks should provide a more comfy ride and given the it is cheaper the Carrera looks good.

Carrera bikes are made by Merida and are much better bikes than they are given credit for (usually by people who have never ridden one but hate Halfords).

But you will only really know which is better for you by riding them both.
  • Hi there