Rear brake problems - help required

Mac9
Mac9 Posts: 134
edited February 2011 in Commuting chat
Hello all,

I'm a complete newbie and I'm having problems with my rear brakes on my Specialized Sirrus Sport 2011.

I changed the tube due to a puncture on Saturday and on Sunday I noticed that the rear brake was rubbing on the rim. I tried to move the brakes about a bit by hand but had no luck, so I tightened the small screw on the brake pad thus making the pads go further away from the rim - problem solved.

Or so I thought! I now have significantly reduced braking power on my rear wheel which I instantly noticed this morning when commuting to work.

How do I solve this problem? Too loose and my brakes aren't strong enough. Too tight and they rub!!

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Comments

• nich
    nich Posts: 888
    After you initially tighten the screw, squeeze the level hard a few times - maybe even take it for a ride - re-adjust after as your'll probably find it's changed a bit.

If the screw is coming loose, try some thread-lock to keep it done up.

Also check pad alignment, and make sure your rims are clean - just go over them a few times with a wet bit of kitchen towel until all the black stuff is removed.

If you still can't get it right, then it might be time for a new brake cable - it stretches and wears over time so might be worth replacing.
  • vorsprung
    vorsprung Posts: 1,953
    Mac9 wrote:
    Hello all,

I'm a complete newbie and I'm having problems with my rear brakes on my Specialized Sirrus Sport 2011.

I changed the tube due to a puncture on Saturday and on Sunday I noticed that the rear brake was rubbing on the rim. I tried to move the brakes about a bit by hand but had no luck, so I tightened the small screw on the brake pad thus making the pads go further away from the rim - problem solved.

Or so I thought! I now have significantly reduced braking power on my rear wheel which I instantly noticed this morning when commuting to work.