Help with size issue!

CrazySmudge
CrazySmudge Posts: 137
edited February 2011 in Road buying advice
okay found the bike I like - Fuji team pro - tried it today and I am very happy with it! Hooray! But I am 5,11 with inside leg of 32 and seem to be between sizes, 56 or 58 and according to the chart I could ride either. Is it better to go for a larger or a smaller frame? I am new to road biking as I am come from mountain biking so I am not sure what to do - help if you can?!

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I'd go for a smaller frame - you can always have a longer stem or more seatpost showing.

If your frame is too big - you're stuffed really.
  • I'm about the same size, and I got a 56 frame. Of course, test riding the bike would be the best way to find out, as a 56 in one mfg might fit about the same as a 58 of a different mfg.
  • cougie wrote:
    I'd go for a smaller frame - you can always have a longer stem or more seatpost showing.

+1
    Summer - Dolan Tuono with Sram Force and Dura-Ace 7850 CL Carbon wheels
    Winter - old faithful Ribble winter bike
    SugarSync cloud storage referral link (better than DropBox atm imho) https://www.sugarsync.com/referral?rf=mzo2tcrhm5gn
  • amnesia
    amnesia Posts: 118
    I had a similar situation with my Tarmac Comp fitting... fell between the 54 and 56, however because I have a long thigh (relative to leg length) I couldn't get my knee over the pedal on the 54 - it was about 2" in front, even with the saddle all the way back on a setback post.

As a result I am picking up the 56 on Friday.

What I am getting at is that you really need to have the bike professionally fitted if in ANY doubt. It's probably a good idea anyway TBH, and should be free if buying a new bike anyway.
    2013 Focus Izalco Pro 2.0 UDi2
    1999 Sunn Vertik II MTB - old skool !
  • vs
    vs Posts: 468