achy (is that a word?) quads

mudcow007
mudcow007 Posts: 3,861
edited February 2011 in Commuting chat
hey all

im currently trying/ failing to lose weight aswell as "trying" to get a bit more fit on my bike. i have been doing my daily commute now for about 2 months, but due to not seeing much movement on the scales, i'm trying to push harder on the bike

however my legs have been really achy since last thursday, i didnt ride at all on the weekend to try an stop the pain, but came in this morning an they are achy, only went i stand up

do you think i have over done it? if so what can i do?

ta
Keeping it classy since '83

Comments

• nich
    nich Posts: 888
    Sounds like you have ;)

Trying stretching if you don't already..seems to help me a little.
  • Pain in often a good sign that you are pushing yourself. If you don't like it, you can try a bit of ibuprofen which will help. My quads often hurt. Stretching (as above) is good.

For weight loss, eating less is by far the best route - coupled with the cycling to stay healthy. The trouble with exercise for weight loss is that you often over-estimate what you've burned.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • Have you got a recovery day?
  • mudcow007
    cheers guys, is it true that you need to have a break at somepoint of the week to let your muscles recover?

im changing my diet plan as of today, im going to try reducing calories down to about 1200 per day to see if that effects the weight thingy

on a positive note my quads are getting huge!
  • Rooner
    Rooner Posts: 109