Soya & tofu in Mallorca?

neeb
neeb Posts: 4,471
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
Didn't know what other forum I could put this in (I'm a beginner in Mallorcan shopping.. :wink: ).

Off to Mallorca for a week in mid/late March. Just wondering, is it possible to buy tofu there? Also, if I am eating out as a semi-veggie, what are the options? Concerned about being able to get enough protein, especially as I'll be coming from an indoor-trained state and doing lots of miles. Also about getting decent wholegrain carbs.

I do eat some fish, but I'm a bit fussy. Has to be some sort of white fish and preferably filleted. From my previous experience of Iberian cuisine I'm worried that I might be forced to eat omelette and chips every day...

Oh, and is there anywhere I'll be able to buy chocolate soya milk ? This is my favoured recovery drink...

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    Its Mallorca, not Ethiopa!!!
  • neeb
    Its Mallorca, not Ethiopa!!!
    Yes, and regional food customs have caused me problems in the past. There are parts of the UK where it's next to impossible to buy tofu, and Spain isn't exactly known for being veggie friendly.. :wink:

Maybe Mallorca is so used to catering for British tourists that it won't be an issue though.
  • Semi veggie? what's one of those? :roll: I am sure you will be fine.
    If not order s big steak all the trimmings and leave the meat.lol joking
  • Percy Vera
    Percy Vera Posts: 1,103
    I think he got the joke the 1st time :roll:
  • neeb
    edwards99 wrote:
    Semi veggie? what's one of those? :roll: I am sure you will be fine.
    I was completely vegetarian for about 15 years and then about 5 or 10 years ago I started eating some fish again. But as I only eat some white fish and not crustaceans, mollusks etc it's easier to say I'm veggie in most situations than to spell it out (Pesco-ovo-lacto-vegetarian (albus, vertebrata)....?)